Are all your clients in France?

Our office is in France, in Paris, but it’s a big world, and what’s keeping us from working elsewhere? Nothing. We’ve already helped create the North African start-up media Le Desk au Maroc, worked on the redesign of L’Orient-Le Jour in Lebanon, pitched in on the local sites for Airbnb in Japan, Canada, and Thailand … We’ve done projects for clients like Elior and Eurovia, and content we’ve created has been consumed well outside the French and European borders.
G

Does Datagif make gifs?

Well, yeah, but we also make: ideas; recommendations; identities; design of every kind, including motion design; videos; websites; apps, and platforms. So the answer is yes, but not only.

USB_3

How do you pronounce the ‘gif’ in Datagif?

Officially, the creator of the .gif format came down on the side of “jif.” But in reality, it depends. In the USA, it’s like, “gyif.” It made us smile hearing “Dadagyif,” but we pronounce it with the “j” sound. There is one thing we’ll never give in on: we say, “ZE wee fee,” not “WhyFi.” Period.

Internet?

Internet is a long love story for us. We love it so much we made a sweatshirt for it (out of stock), three tote bags (get the latest one soon) badges (available in the shop here), flags. Internet is life. Internet is good company.

Drapeaux_Datagif_23182

● Because we’ve already done posters, we’re designing flags.  

minitel

● Pellentesque congue. Ut in risus volutpat libero pharetra tempor.

Datagif-004-VF-1500px
09

● 404 : Flag not found.

Pins_rose_Datagif

● Pour que vous aussi vous soyez fièr.e.s d’arborer Internet on a conçu deux pin’s Internet avec Internet Pin Company.

NEON_C2
Pins_bleu_Datagif

● So that you, too, can proudly adorn yourself with Internet, we’ve designed two badges with Internet Pin Company. Get ‘em while they last here.

tot2

● Pellentesque congue dolurem essert in risus volutpat libero pharetra tempor.

Where in Paris are you?

In the 11th arrondissement (in a neighborhood with plenty of places to get coffee, lunch or buy books and posters.)

wut

I want to work with you. When do we start?

All of our job postings are here. At the moment we’re looking for an office manager. For internships, freelance work or spontaneous applications, write to jobs@datagif.fr. We’ll try an answer all the mail we get. Sometimes we get an awful lot, which is great, but that means we might not answer each individual note — sorry about that.

What social networks are you on?

So, who is Datagif and when did it all start?

Datagif has been around since 2010, so we’re celebrating 10 years in 2020! Gaëtan Duchateau and Florent Guerlain are the founders and co-directors. Datagif has been a completely independent agency from the start. The team has grown over the years and comprises about a dozen creative people with complimentary skills.

FILES@3x

Do you work on print projects?

Yes, of course.

How do I get in touch?

CHAT@3x

You mention ecodesign a lot, what is that?

The idea is to change the way we think about projects in an effort to reduce their carbon footprint. We’re not going to start a revolution with just a few clicks, but we do intend to shake up a few habits … We can now propose small changes in our approach that can make a project more responsible — so that servers use less energy when running clients’ websites or applications, for example.

You do non-client projects, what's the business model ?

One of the goals we had in creating Datagif was to overcome the “profitability-first” constraint, in favor of “creativity-first.” How can you evolve or find new ideas without pulling your head out of client briefs from time to time? It’s our way of getting some fresh air, without always running everything through the mill of accounting.

Does that mean you work for free?

Facepalm

Would you work on any kind of project?

Yes and no.
Yes, because we haven’t chosen to specialize in one sector or one type of project. We know how to adapt to the constraint of geography, planning and resources.
No, because if we did not believe a project was viable, we’d be honest and say so.
PAGES@3x

What types of projects or clients do you like most?

To be frank, the more our clients differ from one another, the more we like it. We love gaining new expertise and knowledge; we don’t like reproducing the same thing on an assembly line.

Plan de travail 2 copie@2x
Plan de travail 3@2x
Plan de travail 2@2x

What’s up with Datagif and media?

Media is awesome. It’s where pure information emanates and circulates — where readers take it on board, remix it and propagate it … It’s all about uncovering challenges of readability, attention, monitization — things we can apply to our non-media projects as well.

WF@3x

Have you ever thought about creating your own media?

Yes.

What’s Opengif?

A few times a year, we hold an evening event where, along with a client, we present a project. The idea is to describe the methodology of the project, its results, and approaches we abandoned, with direct feedback from the client of course. These events are open to anyone who wants to sign up.

At the
Bapbap brewery
in Paris!
OG@2x
Capture d’écran 2020-02-04 à 16.13.35
IMG_8739
Capture d’écran 2020-02-04 à 16.16.08
24042018-IMG_8443
24042018-IMG_8433

How many plants have you got in your office?

24.

tasse@2x

How much does a website cost?

We put together an estimate based on the number of person-hours we think it will take to build the site to the client’s specifications. If needed, we ask questions (we love asking questions) to better define the scope of the project and give the most exact estimation possible, given how much time it will take to do the project correctly. If the project is still a bit fuzzy around the edges, we can start with a mission aimed at sharpening it up.

Do you respond to requests for proposals?

It’s been known to happen, yes, but we try not to spend our time putting together bids. Sometimes it’s obligatory, if we want to work on an attractive project in the public domaine, for example. But for a boutique agency, responding to requests for proposals is not a super profitable exercise. We much prefer starting a discussion with a prospect well ahead of a project, and beginning a collaboration that’s based more on confidence.

28 seconds to go around Datagif?

28 seconds ? Ok.

Vous ne travaillez qu’en France ?

Le bureau est situé en France, à Paris, mais le monde est vaste et qu’est-ce qui nous empêche de travailler ailleurs ? Rien. Nous avons déjà travaillé à la création du média Le Desk au Maroc, à la refonte de L’Orient-Le Jour au Liban, à la création de sites locaux pour Airbnb au Japon, Canada, Thaïlande… Pour des clients comme Elior ou Eurovia, les contenus que nous créons traversent largement les frontières françaises et européennes.

G

Est-ce que Datagif produit des gifs ?

Alors, oui, mais on produit aussi : des idées, des recos, des identités, du design sous toutes ses formes, des motions, des films, des sites, des applis, des plateformes. La réponse est donc oui mais pas que.

USB_3

● Mais on aime quand même beaucoup en produire, surtout en 3D

Le gif de Datagif se prononce comment ?

Officiellement, le créateur du format .gif à tranché pour « jif ». Mais en vrai, ça dépend. Aux US, ça sera plutôt « guif ». Ça nous fait sourire quand on entend « Dataguif », mais nous on le prononce plutôt avec le j. Il y a par contre un truc sur lequel on ne tergiversera jamais : on dit LE wifi. Point.

Internet?

Internet c’est une longue histoire d’amour. On l’aime si fort qu’on lui a créé un sweat (out of stock), trois totebags (le tout dernier sera à commander ici), des pin’s (dispos dans le shop ici), des drapeaux ici. Internet c’est la vie. Internet c’est la bonne compagnie.

Drapeaux_Datagif_23182

● Parce qu’on a déjà fait des poster on s’est mis à concevoir des drapeaux.

minitel

● 3615: Internet

Datagif-004-VF-1500px

● Parfois on imprime aussi Internet

09

● SOURCE : Internet.

Pins_rose_Datagif

Devancez la rupture de stock.

NEON_C2
Pins_bleu_Datagif

● Pour que vous aussi vous soyez fièr.e.s d’arborer Internet on a conçu des pin’s Internet avec Internet Pin Company.

tot2

Pour emmener Internet partout avec vous.

Vous êtes situés où ?

À Paris, dans le XIe arrondissement (là où il y a plein de chouettes endroits pour prendre un café, déjeuner…).

wut

Je veux travailler chez vous. On commence quand ?

Nos offres sont toutes rassemblées ici. En ce moment on recherche notre office manager. Candidature de stage, proposition de freelance ou candidature spontanée : écrivez nous à jobs@datagif.fr. Nous nous efforçons de répondre aux mails reçus. Parfois nous en recevons énormément, ce qui nous fait très plaisir, mais nous empêche de pouvoir répondre à tout le monde, nous en sommes bien désolés.

Quels sont vos réseaux ?

Datagif, qui et depuis quand ?

Datagif existe depuis 2010 et passe donc le cap de la décennie en 2020 ! Gaëtan Duchateau et Florent Guerlain en sont les deux fondateurs. Datagif est une agence totalement indépendante depuis le premier jour. Depuis, l’équipe a grandit et se compose aujourd’hui d’une dizaine de personnes créatives, aux profils complémentaires.

FILES@3x
wowowo wowowowo Datagif a 10 (dix !) ans en 2020

Vous travaillez sur des projets print ?

Oui, bien sûr.

Je vous contacte comment ?

CHAT@3x

Vous parlez beaucoup d'ecodesign, c'est quoi ?

L’idée c’est de changer les habitudes dans la conception de nos projets pour rendre leur empreinte carbone plus mince. On ne va pas tout révolutionner en deux clics, mais on a l’intention de bousculer quelques habitudes… Nous proposons désormais à nos clients des détails dans notre approche qui font toute la différence pour qu’un projet soit conçu de manière plus responsable et que les serveurs consomment moins de ressources avec leurs sites ou applis.

Vous faites des projets hors-clients, mais c’est quoi le business model ?

Si l’on a créé Datagif c’est pour s’affranchir de la contrainte de « rentabilité première » pour lui préférer la « créativité première ». Comment évoluer ou trouver de nouvelles idées sans sortir la tête des briefs clients de temps en temps ? C’est notre manière à nous de respirer, sans chercher à toujours tout passer au filtre de la comptabilité.

Un des derniers en date, c’est Bingo-Typo, une sélection de typographies gratuites que l’on apprécie et que l’on a voulu présenter dans le contexte de jeux télé. Pourquoi ? 🤷‍♂️
On est ravi quand ce genre de projet trouve un écho et son public. Et si It’s Nice That en parle c’est encore mieux !

Est-ce que ça signifie que vous travaillez gratuitement ?

Facepalm

Vous travaillez sur tout type de projets ?

Oui et non.

Oui, parce que nous n’avons pas fait le choix d’une spécialisation dans un seul secteur ou un seul type de projet. Nous savons nous adapter aux contraintes géographique, de planning, de ressources…

Non, parce que si nous ne croyons pas à la viabilité d’un projet, nous aurons l’honnêteté de le dire.

PAGES@3x

Quels sont vos types de projets ou clients favoris ?

Pour être francs, moins nos clients se ressemblent, plus on aime. On aime engranger de l’expertise, de la connaissance, mais on n’aime pas reproduire la même chose à la chaîne.

Plan de travail 2 copie@2x
Plan de travail 3@2x
Plan de travail 2@2x

Datagif et les médias, c’est quoi les bails ?

Chez Datagif on aime les médias, au point de nous risquer chaque année à faire des prédictions sur l’avenir du secteur. Et le meilleur du meilleur de notre veille média dans notre newsletter dédiée.

WF@3x

Vous n'avez jamais pensé à créer votre propre média ?

Si.

C'est quoi Opengif ?

De temps en temps, nous présentons le temps d’une soirée un projet réalisé par l’agence, en présence de nos clients. L’idée est de raconter la méthodologie du projet, les résultats, les pistes abandonnées, avec bien sûr le retour du client. C’est ouvert à tous.tes et c’est sur inscription !

OG@2x
Capture d’écran 2020-02-04 à 16.13.35
IMG_8739
Capture d’écran 2020-02-04 à 16.16.08
24042018-IMG_8443
24042018-IMG_8433

Il y a combien de plantes dans votre bureau ?

24.

tasse@2x

Ça coûte combien un site internet ?

Nous établissons un devis qui s’appuie sur du temps homme estimé selon le cahier des charges fourni. Si nécessaire, nous posons des questions (on aime bien poser des questions) pour bien définir le périmètre du projet et proposer une estimation la plus juste possible, respectueuse du temps nécessaire pour réaliser correctement le projet. Si les contours du projet sont encore flous, nous pouvons démarrer par une première mission pour aider à cadrer tout cela.

Vous répondez à des appels d'offres ?

À notre échelle, répondre à des appels d’offres n’est pas un exercice très rentable. Nous préférons de loin amorcer une discussion en amont avec un prospect, se rencontrer, parler de son projet, pour entamer une collaboration qui repose davantage sur la confiance.

28 secondes pour faire le tour de Datagif ?

28 secondes ? Ok.